

The Historic Districts Council is the citywide advocate for New York's historic neighborhoods. For more than 50 years, HDC has worked to preserve, improve and celebrate historically, culturally, and architecturally significant communities across New York City.

Since 1990, the Landmarks Lion Award has been given to honor those individuals who have shown unusual devotion and aggressiveness in protecting New York City's historic buildings and neighborhoods. *This year, the Historic Districts Council is pleased to honor Michael Devonshire.*

Michael Devonshire's long and illustrious career has spanned many significant roles, most notably New York City Landmarks as Preservation Commissioner for more than a decade (2010-2023). Michael played an indispensable role at the Commission as a strong advocate for the City's landmarks and historic buildings, leading the way with his incredible technical expertise on building construction and materials that was often referenced and called upon commissioners. Michael is known for his commitment the unwavering to preservation ethic and his role as an independent thinker during his time on the Commission.

Michael Devonshire is also being recognized for his other stellar work in the preservation field, including his longtime role as Director of Conservation at Jan Hird Pokorny Associates. With Michael's leadership, the firm undertook award-winning restoration work on such renowned landmarks as the Battery Maritime Building, Schermerhorn Row, Merchant's House Museum, and the Hunterfly Road Houses at Weeksville Heritage Center, contributing greatly to New York's built environment. In addition. he has served on the New York State Board for Historic Preservation, U.S. National Committee of the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), and the Snug Harbor Cultural Center, among many others, as well as teaching for decades at the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation and University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

THE HISTORIC DISTRICTS COUNCIL

INVITES YOU TO HONOR MICHAEL DEVONSHIRE

Honorary Co-Chairs
Françoise Astorg Bollack
Franny Eberhart
Margaret Halsey Gardiner
Lloyd Zuckerberg

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2023 6:30PM

Cocktail Reception and Gala Dinner

The View at The Battery

One Battery Place, Manhattan Cocktail Attire



Officers

John Bacon, President Hal Bromm, Vice President Marie Flaguel, Vice President Penelope Bareau, Secretary Christopher W. London, Treasurer Anthony C. Wood, Chair Emeritus

Board of Directors

Miriam Berman
Françoise Bollack
George Calderaro
Charu Chaudhry
Brendan Coburn
Andrew Scott Dolkart
Doreen Gallo
Alison Greenberg
Susan Hopper
Ondel Hylton
Kyle Johnson
Robert Kornfeld Jr.
Nicole Lytle
Lorna Nowvé
Dana Schulz

Board of Advisers

Lisa Ackerman Angel Ayón Wayne Benjamin Andrew Berman Leo Blackman Peter Brav Samuel Brooks Kelly Carroll Julia Charles Matthew Coody Andrew Cronson Kerri Culhane Dan Donovan Franny Eberhart Vittoria Fariello Thomas Fenniman David Goldfarb Laura Heim Angel Hernandez Victoria Hofmo Matthew Jenkins Linda C. Jones Eve Kahn Daniel Karatzas

Sean Khorsandi Rachel Levy Elena Martínez Liz McEnaney Joyce Mendelsohn Richard Moses Morgan Munsey Kate Ottavino Joseph S. Rosenberg Keith Taylor Zulmilena Then Jeremy Woodoff Lori Zimmer

REGISTER HERE

