EVENT: Preservation Summit, 11/13

The Citizens Emergency Committee to Preserve Preservation invites you to participate in a Preservation Summit on Monday, November 13th at the General Society of Mechanics and Tradesmen, 20 West 44th Street, Room 506.

A brief reception with refreshments starts at 6:00 PM, followed by the Summit program at 6:30 PM. RSVP to [email protected].

This event follows up on the first Preservation Summit, held on May 2, 2006, and attended by over 125 citizens concerned about the future of the Landmarks Preservation Commission. A Steering Committee was formed and hired Mark Caserta to help develop and carry out a strategic campaign to achieve the following goals:

1. Ensure Fairness: LPC needs new procedures to improve openness and responsiveness to the public. No more deals behind closed doors!

2. Reestablish Commission Independence: Landmarks commissioners should be properly qualified when they are appointed to the job. Once appointed, they should be free to make the decisions that they think are right.

3. Secure Appropriate Resources: the LPC needs more staff and funding to meet the mandates spelled out in the Landmarks Law.

The November 13th Summit will outline an immediate action plan for the campaign, including:

1) A website and blog providing a forum for citizen activists to document and discuss the Landmarks emergency

2) New legislation to open up LPC proceedings

3) A lawsuit to force the prompt re-appointment or replacement of Landmarks Commissioners whose terms have expired

4) A statement of criteria for the appointment of Landmarks Commissioners

Join us on November 13th to hear about these plans and voice your opinion.

Campaign Members (list in formation): Michael Henry Adams, Eric Allison, Annice Alt, Hunter Armstrong, Elizabeth Ashby, Council Member Tony Avella, Penelope Bareau, Sharon Barnes, Darrell Berger, Bronson Binger, Charla Bolton, Jonathan Brandt, Hal Bromm, Mark Caserta, Giorgio Cavaglieri, Jane E. Churchman, Veronika Conant, Joan K. Davidson, Nan and Richard Davis, William E. Davis, Jr. Andrew Scott Dolkart, Cynthia Doty, James Driscoll, John Fout, Cheshire E. Frager, Olive Freud, Ann Gaffney, Mitchell Grubler, Judith Guttman, John Jurayj, Daniel Karatzas, Robert Kornfeld, Jr. Jeffrey Kroessler, Sarah Bradford Landau, Susan H. Lek, Danielle Linzer, Laura Ludwig, Ken Lustbader, Jeanne and David Martowski, Joyce Matz, Katrina Maxtone-Graham, Sue Mellins, Joyce Mendelsohn, Leslie Monsky, Craig Morrison, Susan Nial, Gene Norman, Everett H. Ortner, Virginia Parkhouse, Theodore H.M. Prudon, Nicholas Quennell, Kathleen Randall, Marci Reaven, Hilda Regier, Gorman Reilly, Michael Reiner, Annette Rosen, David Rosenberg, Peter Salwen, Jeffrey Saunders, Whitney North Seymour, Jr. Jeffery Sholeen, RitaSue Siegel, Roy Silverfarb, Arlene Simon, Teri Slater, Aaron Sosnick, Frances Spangler, Beverly Moss Spatt, Jane Stanicki, Charles Steinberg, Jack Taylor, Robert Trentlyon, Anthony M. Tung, Anthony C. Wood, Kate Wood

Steering Committee: Eric Allison, Educator; Hal Bromm, Real Estate Consultant; Jeffrey Kroessler, Historian; Ken Lustbader, Preservationist; Anthony C. Wood, Preservation Historian; William E. Davis, Jr., Architect Acting Chair; W.N. Seymour, Jr., Lawyer Acting Secretary; Kate Wood, Preservationist Acting Treasurer; Mark Caserta Campaign Coordinator

Posted Under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *