The Brooklyn Carnegie Library:Stone Avenue Branch Photos




581 Mother Gaston Boulevard

Brooklyn, NY 11212

Year(s) built: 1914

Year opened: 1914

Architect(s): William B. Tubby

Builder(s): F.J. Kelly’s Sons

Status: Designated April 14, 2015

This unique Jacobethan-style building originally operated as the Brownsville Children’s Library in an effort to alleviate the overcrowding at the Brownsville Branch at 61 Glenmore Avenue (1908), which itself was expanded before it opened. The original doors were eventually replaced and the plaques between the first and second stories were plastered over.  From 1953 to 1955 the structure was renovated, and the roof was remodeled in 1976 and again in 1994.  New period-inspired, multi-paneled entrance doors were recently installed.  The Stone Avenue Branch continues to operate as a branch of the Brooklyn Public Library.  Once surrounded by low-rise late 19th and early 20th century residential buildings, the branch now stands in the middle of six Post-World War II super blocks containing high-rise public housing projects.