

HISTORIC DISTRICTS COUNCIL LANDMARKS LION GALA



MONDAY, NOVEMBER 29, 2021



The Historic Districts Council is the citywide advocate for New York's historic neighborhoods. For more than 50 years, HDC has worked with neighborhood groups, public officials and individual advocates to preserve, improve and celebrate historic communities across New York City.

Since 1990, the Landmarks Lion Award has been given to honor people who have shown unusual devotion and aggressiveness in protecting New York City's historic buildings and neighborhoods. This year, the Historic Districts Council is pleased to honor Darren Walker and the Ford Foundation.

Darren Walker is the President of the Ford Foundation, a \$16 billion international social justice philanthropy. He is a member of the Reimagine New York Commission and co-chair of NYC Census 2020. Before joining the Ford Foundation, he was vice president at the Rockefeller Foundation, overseeing global and domestic programs. In the 1990s, he was Chief Operating Officer of the Abyssinian Development Corporation, Harlem's largest community development organization. Mr. Walker is the co-chair of New York City's Mayoral Advisory Commission on City Art, Monuments, and Markers. He also serves on the boards of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, the National Gallery of Art, Carnegie Hall, the High Line, the Committee to Protect Journalists, and the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture, among others.

HDC is proud to honor Darren Walker for his work for preservation over the years and the role the Ford Foundation has played, not only in its tasteful, bold renovations to its historic, Individual and Interior Landmark headquarters, but also in championing the National Trust's African American Cultural Heritage Action Fund. Mr. Walker's work and commitment to advancing, cultivating, and celebrating Black history through preserving and celebrating historic places merits recognition with the Landmarks Lion award.

HISTORIC DISTRICTS COUNCIL

Invites you to honor

DARREN WALKER AND THE FORD FOUNDATION

Monday, November 29, 2021

6:30 PM

Cocktail Reception and Gala Dinner

HONORARY CHAIRS

KENT BARWICK AGNES GUND ANNE VAN INGEN

CIPRIANI 25 BROADWAY

MANHATTAN

Cocktail attire

New York City regulations require proof of vaccination for entry.



OFFICERS

Alison Greenberg, President John Bacon, Vice President Hal Bromm, Vice President Chris Cirillo, Vice President Christopher W. London, Treasurer Penelope Bareau, Secretary Anthony C. Wood, Chair Emeritus

Miriam Berman Brendan Coburn Matthew Coody

Françoise Bollack Kerri Culhane

Lisa Ackerman Angel Ayón Wayne Benjamin Andrew Berman Beth Bingham Leo Blackman Peter Bray Samuel Brooks George Calderaro Julia Charles Charu Chaudhry

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Gregory Dietrich Christian Emanuel Marie Flageul Doreen Gallo Kyle Johnson Robert Kornfeld, Jr. Jeffrey A. Kroessler Liz McEnaney Kate Burns Ottavino Zulmilena Then Susan Tunick

BOARD OF ADVISERS

Andrew Scott Dolkart Dan Donovan Franny Eberhart Thomas Fenniman David Goldfarb Victoria Hofmo Susan Hopper Matthew Jenkins Linda C. Jones Eve M. Kahn Daniel Karatzas Paul Kerzner

Sean Khorsandi Denish Kinariwala Edward S. Kirkland Alison LaFever Rachel Levy Flena Martinez Joyce Mendelsohn Richard Moses Joseph S. Rosenberg Beverly Moss Spatt Brian Scott Weber

Image: Fireplace detail, New York Architectural Terra Cotta Company Office Building, Long Island City, Queens @Peter Mauss/Esto