Board of Directors & Advisers

HDC’s small professional staff is directed by our dedicated Board of Directors & Advisers, whose members represent over two dozen historic neighborhoods and are drawn from the fields of architecture, education, history, marketing, law, design, public relations, journalism and community activism.

HDC’s board consists  people of wide-ranging disciplines from all over the city, each of whom works on two or more committees and serves without remuneration.

Board of Directors


Name                     Office                     

Daniel J. Allen                         President

John Bacon                             Vice President

Leo J. Blackman                     Vice President

Alison G. Greenberg              Vice President

Susan Mathisen                      Vice President

Christopher W. London          Treasurer

Susan S. Hopper                    Secretary

Anthony Wood                      Chair Emeritus



Penelope Bareau

Françoise Bollack

Claudette Brady

Brendan Coburn

Matthew Coody

Pat Courtney

Kerri Culhane

Gregory Dietrich

Thomas A. Fenniman

Doreen Gallo

Jeffrey A. Kroessler

Alyssa Loorya

Marissa Marvelli

Liz McEnaney

Beverly Moss Spatt

Jack Taylor





Hunter Armstrong

Angel Ayón

Wayne Benjamin

Andrew Berman

Miriam Berman

Peter Bray

Donald Brennan

Hal Bromm

George Calderaro

Andrew Scott Dolkart

Dan Donovan

Franny Eberhart

Lynn Ellsworth

Christian Emanuel

Susan Gammie

David Goldfarb

Victoria Hofmo

Kyle Johnson

Linda C. Jones

John Jurayj

Eve M. Kahn

Daniel Karatzas

Tara Kelly

Paul Kerzner

Robert Kornfeld, Jr.

Rachel Levy

Barry S. Lewis

Timothy McCabe

Joyce Matz

Joyce Mendelsohn

Richard Moses

Kate Burns Ottavino

Cristiana Peña

Lisa Renz

Joseph S. Rosenberg

Julia Schoeck

Thomas F. Schutte

Barnett Shepherd

Susan Tunick

Brian Scott Weber

Kevin Wolfe

Kate Wood

Thanks for Visiting

The Historic Districts Council is the advocate for all of New York City's historic neighborhoods. HDC is the only organization in New York that works directly with people who care about our city's historic neighborhoods and buildings. We represent a constituency of over 500 local community organizations.

Contact Us

Historic Districts Council
232 East 11th Street
New York NY 10003
tel: 212-614-9107
fax: 212-614-9127

Donate To HDC

Become a Friend of HDC! Consider donating to support our efforts.