Landmarks Lion Award

The Historic Districts Council holds a yearly fundraising event to honor those who have been especially influential in the preservation world. The Landmarks Lion Award is a prestigious representation of the work done by the recipients. HDC began the award ceremony in 1990 and has continued since in an effort to thank and provide awareness of the efforts made on the part of the diligent preservationist of New York City.

 Landmarks Lion Recipients:

Michael Devonshire – 2023

Frank E. Sanchis III – 2022

Darren Walker and the Ford Foundation – 2021

50 Years of HDC – 2020

Anne Van Ingen – 2019

Boston Valley Terra Cotta; Friends of Terra Cotta; and Gladding, McBean – 2018

Jeffrey Greene and EverGreene Architectural Arts – 2017

Nancy Pearsall and Francis Morrone – 2016

Pride of Lions- 2015

 Andrew Scott Dolkart – 2014

Hugh & Tiziana Hardy-2013

Roberta Brandes Gratz-2012

Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel-2011

Robert A. M. Stern-2010

Rev. Dr. Thomas F. Pike-2009

Walter Melvin-2008

Lisa Ackerman-2007

Robert Silman-2006 (pdf)

Barry Lewis-2005 (pdf)

Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners-2004

Kitty Carlisle Hart-2003

Kenneth K. Fisher-2002 (pdf)

Dorothy Miner-2001 (pdf)

Joyce Matz-2000 (pdf)

Anthony C. Wood-1999

Dr. James Marston Fitch-1998

Kent Barwick-1997 (pdf)

Edward S. Kirkland-1996

Joan K. Davidson-1995

Arlene Simon-1994 (pdf)

Otis Pratt Pearsall-1994

Margot Gayle-1993

Jack Taylor-1992

Halina Rosenthal-1991

Christabel Gough-1990

Help preserve New York’s architectural history with a contribution to HDC

$10 $25 $50 Other >