Landmarks Lion

The Historic Districts Council holds a yearly fundraising event to honor those who have been especially influential in the preservation world. The Landmarks Lion Award is a prestigious representation of the work done by the recipients. HDC began the award ceremony in 1990 and has continued since in an effort to thank and provide awareness of the efforts made on the part of the diligent preservationist of New York City.

Previous Landmark Lion Recipients:

Christabel Gough-1990

Halina Rosenthal-1991

Jack Taylor-1992

Margot Gayle-1993

Otis Pratt Pearsall-1994

Arlene Simon-1994 (pdf)

Joan K. Davidson-1995

Edward S. Kirkland-1996

Kent Barwick-1997 (pdf)

Dr. James Marston Fitch-1998

Anthony C. Wood-1999

Joyce Matz-2000 (pdf)

Dorothy Minor-2001 (pdf)

Kenneth K. Fisher-2002 (pdf)

Kitty Carlisle Hart-2003

Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners-2004

Barry Lewis-2005 (pdf)

Robert Silman-2006 (pdf)

Lisa Ackerman-2007

Walter Melvin-2008

Rev. Dr. Thomas F. Pike-2009

Robert A. M. Stern-2010

Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel-2011

Roberta Brandes Gratz-2012

Hugh & Tiziana Hardy-2013

 Andrew Scott Dolkart – 2014

Thanks for Visiting

The Historic Districts Council is the advocate for all of New York City's historic neighborhoods. HDC is the only organization in New York that works directly with people who care about our city's historic neighborhoods and buildings. We represent a constituency of over 500 local community organizations.

Contact Us

Historic Districts Council
232 East 11th Street
New York NY 10003
tel: 212-614-9107
fax: 212-614-9127

Donate To HDC

Become a Friend of HDC! Consider donating to support our efforts.

Join Our Mailing List