Our Advocacy

Rally Monday, March 6th to Designate 60 Wall Street as both Individual and Interior Landmark

On Monday, March 6th, at 11am, HDC, Docomomo US, and a coalition of community advocates, elected officials, architects and urbanists will gather at 60 Wall Street and release a joint letter calling on the Landmarks Preservation Commission to designate the building as both an Individual and Interior Landmark. 

60 Wall Street, Roche-Dinkeloo’s 1985-89 Postmodern office tower in Lower Manhattan, is widely considered one of the most significant examples of Post Modern design in New York City, and one of the finest examples of the form anywhere. LPC knows the building is meritorious. The Commission’s research department has noted “the building and interior…merit further study within the context of Postmodern commercial architecture and interiors.”

In January 2023, the Commission approved a proposal for the building that preserved the building’s iconic colonnade. At the hearing for that proposal, HDC testified that we found the proposed changes “to be appropriate for a building worthy of landmark designation,” because they kept the essential nature of the structure intact.

Without landmark designation the building and its iconic interior are in peril. The Harmonious Relationship to 55 Broadway that saved the building at its last LPC hearing has no bearing on the interior, which can be gutted at will if it is not designated.

Read the joint letter calling for designating 60 Wall Street as both an Individual and Interior Landmark!


Initial signories of the letter include:

Docomomo US

Historic Districts Council

Manhattan Community Board 1

New York City Council Member Christopher Marte (District 1)

New York State Assemblymember Grace Lee (District 65)

New York State Senator Brian Kavanagh (District 27)

Municipal Art Society

New York Landmarks Conservancy

Preservation League of New York State

Human Scale NYC

Tribeca Trust

Deborah Berke

Alice Blank

Adam Nathaniel Furman

Paul Goldberger

Rock Herzog (Cocaine Decor)

Alexandra Lange

Eeva-Liisa Pelkonen

Robert A.M. Stern