LPC Budget Needs Your Help

From our esteemed colleagues at Landmark West! (whom we are very grateful for jumping on the ball with this alert so we can simply cut & paste)

AT RISK: The Landmarks Preservation Commission and Historic Buildings and Neighborhoods Throughout NYC!

Unless YOU act right now, the already miniscule budget of the Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) — the only city agency with the authority to protect New York’s historic buildings and neighborhoods — YOUR NEIGHBORHOOD — could be cut significantly in the coming weeks.

The City Council, now entering final budget negotiations, must hear from you. Immediately. Email/call/fax your local council member and members of the budget negotiating team TODAY. See contact information below.

Frustrated with the LPC? Their slowness to respond? The ever-quickening pace of development, eating away at the character of our communities? It will only get worse, unless the LPC has the resources it needs to carry out its vital mission. Landmark West! is part of a broad coalition advocating for a $1 million increase in the LPC budget on top of its current budget of just over $4 million — a modest amount of money that could make a world of difference in the LPC’s ability to protect the buildings and neighborhoods that matter to the people of our city. ACT NOW! Contact the Council, and forward this message to friends and colleagues.

Who is your council person? Go to http://www.cmap.nypirg.org/netmaps/MyGovernment/NYC/MyGovernmentNYC.asp?cmd=start.

Who are the council members on the budget negotiating team?

Quinn quinn@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (212) 564-7347; T: (212) 564-7757
Brewer gale.brewer@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (212) 873-0279; T: (212) 873-0282
Garodnick garodnick@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (212) 818-0706; T: (212) 818-0580
Baez baez@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 584-5725; T: (718) 584-6955
Comrie comrie@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 776-3798; T: (718) 776-3700
Dilan emdilan@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 642-8639; T: (718) 642-8664
McMahon mcmahon@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 556-7389; T: (718) 556-7370
Rivera rivera@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 842-6280; T: (718) 842-8100
Dickens dickens@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (212) 442-2732; T: (212) 678-4505
Fidler fidler@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 241-9316; T: (718) 241-9330
DiBlasio deblasio@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 854-1146; T: (718) 854-9791
Gallagher (gallagher@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 326-3549; T: (718) 366-3900)
Oddo oddo@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 980-1051; T: (718) 980-1017
Jackson jackson@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (212) 928-4177; T: (212) 928-1322
Arroyo arroyo@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 402-0539; T: (718) 402-6130
Reyna reyna@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 963-4527; T: (718) 963-3141
Weprin weprin@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 776-2302; T: (718) 465-8202
Katz katz@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 544-4452; T: (718) 544-8800

At-large members
Mark-Viverito viverito@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (212) 722-6378; T: (212) 828-9800
Martinez martinez@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (917) 521-1293; T: (917) 521-2616/2640
Seabrook seabrook@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 652-0703; T: (718) 994-9900
Sears sears@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 803-9832; T: (718) 803-6373
Stewart stewart@council.nyc.ny.us; F: (718) 951-8191; T: (718) 951-8177

Stay tuned to the latest preservation news. Please visit LANDMARK WEST’s “Watch-Blog” at www.landmarkwest.blogspot.com.

Posted Under: Alert, Legislation, LPC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *